Big 4 Consulting Salary: Pay by Firm and Level
Author: Taylor Warfield, Former Bain Manager and interviewer
Last Updated: August 28, 2026
Big 4 consulting salary ranges from about $91,000 in total compensation for an entry-level hire to $662,750 at the partner level, with Deloitte paying at the top of the four and KPMG at the bottom. This guide breaks down verified pay at every level of Deloitte, PwC, EY, and KPMG, including the strategy arm premium, the service line gap that costs candidates tens of thousands of dollars, and how Big 4 pay compares to MBB.
Before reading on:
Most candidates struggle to land interviews and even fewer turn them into offers. Watch my free training to learn how to triple your chances of landing interviews and increase your chances of receiving an offer by 8x.
Key Takeaways
Big 4 consulting pay clusters tightly across Deloitte, PwC, EY, and KPMG at every level, which means the practice you join matters far more than the firm name on your offer letter.
- Entry-level total compensation runs roughly $91,000 to $100,000 across the four firms
- Manager pay spans just $23,000 across all four firms, from $187,463 at KPMG to $210,377 at Deloitte
- Advisory pays 25% to 27% more than audit at the same level inside the same firm
- The strategy arms pay 20% to 35% above core consulting, and their partners can clear $650,000
- Big 4 entry pay sits 15% to 20% below MBB, where undergraduate hires start at $112,000 to $115,000 in base
- Deloitte UK averaged £1.051 million in profit per equity partner in fiscal 2025, the highest of the four
What Is the Average Big 4 Consulting Salary?
The average Big 4 consulting salary in the United States is roughly $130,000 in total compensation across all levels, based on Levels.fyi data accessed in August 2026. Entry-level hires earn $91,000 to $113,000, managers earn $187,000 to $210,000, and the highest reported single package is $662,750 at Deloitte.
Those numbers cover core consulting and advisory work at the four firms, not audit or tax. Deloitte, PwC, EY, and KPMG generated a combined $220 billion in fiscal 2025 revenue and employ roughly 1.5 million people, so the pay bands below reflect an enormous population of consultants rather than a handful of offers.
Here is how the four firms line up level by level.
Career stage |
Deloitte |
PwC |
EY |
KPMG |
Entry level |
Analyst, $92,900 |
Associate, $91,400 |
Consultant, $113,000 |
Analyst, $96,836 |
Two to three years in |
Consultant, $112,064 |
Experienced Associate, $105,000 |
Not reported |
Consultant, $98,100 |
Post-MBA or senior |
Senior Consultant, $161,714 |
Senior Associate, $175,995 |
Senior Consultant, $152,000 |
Senior Consultant, $145,300 |
Manager |
$210,377 |
$209,829 |
$200,000 |
$187,463 |
Senior manager or director |
Senior Manager, $277,150 |
Director, $286,250 |
Senior Manager, $262,000 |
Senior Manager, $235,805 |
Highest reported |
Partner, $662,750 |
Managing Director, $424,750 |
$283,000 |
Associate Partner, $301,000 |
Source: Levels.fyi median total compensation for the management consultant track in the United States, accessed August 2026. Two caveats matter. EY's lowest reported rung on this track is Consultant rather than an undergraduate analyst title, so the $113,000 figure is not a like-for-like entry-level comparison. PwC's management consultant ladder also skips a senior manager tier and moves from Manager straight to Director.
What Does Each Big 4 Level Actually Pay?
Big 4 pay moves in four large steps: the jump into a senior individual contributor role, the jump to manager, the jump to senior manager or director, and the jump into the partnership. Each one adds 25% to 40% in total compensation.
Entry level: $91,000 to $100,000
Undergraduate hires join as Analysts at Deloitte and KPMG and as Associates at PwC. Median total compensation lands between $91,400 and $96,836, with base salary carrying almost all of it and a bonus of $3,000 to $5,000 on top. Signing bonuses for campus hires typically run $5,000 to $12,000.
Government and public sector practices tend to start lower than commercial ones. Technology and cyber roles start higher, usually by $5,000 to $15,000, because the four firms compete with software companies for the same people.
Post-MBA and senior consultant: $145,000 to $176,000
This is the biggest single jump on the ladder and the standard entry point for MBA graduates. PwC leads at $175,995 in median total compensation, followed by Deloitte at $161,714, EY at $152,000, and KPMG at $145,300. Post-MBA signing bonuses run $25,000 to $40,000 in core consulting.
Base salary still dominates. A Deloitte senior consultant reports $154,071 in base against $7,643 in bonus, which is why the MBA consulting salary at a Big 4 firm looks flatter year to year than an MBB package at the same stage.
Manager and senior manager: $187,000 to $286,000
Managers own delivery, run teams of five to ten, and start carrying business development expectations. Median total compensation sits between $187,463 at KPMG and $210,377 at Deloitte, a spread of just 12% across the four firms. Bonus becomes meaningful here for the first time, at $17,829 for a PwC manager and $22,358 for a Deloitte manager.
Senior manager is where the packages separate. Deloitte reports $277,150 and KPMG reports $235,805, and the $41,000 difference is driven almost entirely by bonus: $38,400 at Deloitte against $15,891 at KPMG.
Director, managing director, and partner: $286,000 and up
Above senior manager, reported data thins out because these packages are individually negotiated and heavily tied to book of business. Deloitte directors report $315,333 in median total compensation, with $55,000 of that in bonus. PwC managing directors top out at $424,750 in reported packages, and the highest single Deloitte figure on record is $662,750.
US Department of Labor visa filings give a useful floor for these levels, since they record contractual base salary rather than self-reported totals. In fiscal 2025, KPMG filed principal roles at a median base of $500,000 and managing director roles at $295,000, and the consulting partner salary above those rungs is a profit share rather than a salary at all.
Which Big 4 Firm Pays Consultants the Most?
Deloitte pays the most at most levels and KPMG pays the least, but the gap is far smaller than candidates expect. At the manager level the entire range across four firms is $23,000. At the entry level it is about $5,000.
Deloitte's edge has a structural cause. It never sold off its consulting arm during the Sarbanes-Oxley era of the early 2000s, which gave it a more mature practice with higher billing rates, and it reached $70.5 billion in fiscal 2025 revenue with roughly 473,100 people. The Deloitte consulting salary premium over the other three runs $5,000 to $20,000 at junior levels and widens at director and above.
PwC is the closest competitor at $56.9 billion in fiscal 2025 revenue, and its performance tier system spreads pay more widely than the other firms at the same title. A strong tier one performer can out-earn a Deloitte counterpart, which is the main reason the PwC consulting salary shows the widest reported band of the four at senior associate.
KPMG is the smallest of the four at $39.8 billion in revenue and about 276,030 employees, and its pay reflects that scale. The trade is real though: a lower KPMG consulting salary tends to come with earlier client exposure and better hours than the larger practices.
Having coached hundreds of candidates through Big 4 offers, I have never once seen someone regret picking a firm for team fit over a $10,000 pay difference. I have seen plenty regret the reverse.
Why Does Your Service Line Matter More Than Your Firm?
An advisory hire and an audit hire at the same Big 4 firm, in the same city, at the same level, are paid very differently. US Department of Labor Labor Condition Application filings make this visible, because employers must report the exact base salary attached to each role.
The table below uses PwC's fiscal 2025 filings, indexed from Department of Labor disclosure data. Every figure is a median base salary across hundreds of individual filings.
Level at PwC |
Advisory |
Assurance (audit) |
Tax |
Associate |
$82,000 |
$66,500 |
$65,900 |
Senior associate |
$111,000 |
$87,350 |
$93,150 |
Manager |
$145,000 |
$116,000 |
$125,000 |
Senior manager |
$170,019 |
$143,700 |
Not reported |
Director |
$224,000 |
Not reported |
Not reported |
Read the senior associate row again. Advisory pays $111,000 against $87,350 in assurance, a 27% premium for the same title at the same firm in the same year. At manager the gap is 25%.
That spread compounds. A candidate who joins advisory instead of audit and stays eight years does not just earn 27% more once, they carry that gap through every promotion, because each raise is calculated off a higher base. Understanding what the Big Four consulting practices actually do is the highest-return hour of research you can spend before applying.
How Much More Do the Big 4 Strategy Arms Pay?
Each of the four firms runs a separate strategy practice that recruits on its own timeline, uses real case interviews, and pays 20% to 35% above core consulting. These are Monitor Deloitte, PwC Strategy&, EY-Parthenon, and KPMG's strategy group.
The premium is largest at the post-MBA and manager levels. An EY-Parthenon manager reports $200,000 to $285,000 in total compensation against roughly $200,000 at core EY, and its partners can exceed $650,000 while core EY partners report $264,000 to $483,000.
Strategy& sits at the top of the Big 4 strategy range, with post-MBA senior associates reporting total packages in the $152,000 to $242,000 band. That puts a strong Strategy& offer within $20,000 to $40,000 of MBB at the same stage, which is the single best pay argument for targeting a strategy arm rather than core consulting.
The catch is selectivity. These groups hire a small fraction of the volume that core consulting does, and they screen with the same case interviews MBB uses. If you want to learn case interviews quickly, my case interview course walks you through proven strategies in as little as 7 days.
How Does Big 4 Consulting Salary Compare to MBB?
MBB pays 15% to 20% more than core Big 4 consulting at entry level and holds most of that lead as you climb. Undergraduate hires start at $112,000 in base salary at McKinsey and Bain and $115,000 at BCG, against $91,000 to $100,000 in total compensation at the Big 4.
The gap widens at the post-MBA level. A McKinsey Associate starts near $192,000 in base salary with first-year totals around $250,000 to $262,000, roughly $80,000 above a Big 4 senior consultant. That is the largest single divergence between the two paths, and it is why the McKinsey salary question dominates MBA recruiting conversations.
Three things narrow the picture. Big 4 promotions come slightly faster in the early years, the strategy arms close most of the gap, and Big 4 firms do not run the same up-or-out pressure, so more people actually reach the levels where the money is. A full MBB vs Big 4 consulting comparison has to weigh promotion probability alongside headline pay.
How Much Do Big 4 Consulting Interns Make?
Big 4 consulting interns earn $35 to $49 per hour, and most programs run 8 to 10 weeks over the summer. Interns are paid hourly rather than on a salary, and several firms pay overtime at 1.5 times the base rate, which meaningfully raises the total on a busy engagement.
- Deloitte Consulting: about $41 per hour for undergraduate and master's interns, with overtime at 1.5x
- PwC: up to $48 per hour, $34 per hour for sophomores, plus a $3,000 signing bonus, according to GMAC 2025 data
- Strategy&: about $49 per hour for master's interns, the highest of the Big 4 programs
- EY Consulting: roughly $39 per hour plus a $2,000 signing bonus, rising to about $45 per hour at EY-Parthenon
- KPMG: roughly $35 to $40 per hour with a completion bonus of up to $4,000
A ten-week Deloitte internship at $41 per hour and 40 hours per week works out to about $16,400 before any bonus, which sits in the middle of the broader consulting intern salary range. The internship matters far more as a hiring channel than as income, since return offer rates at all four firms are high for interns who perform.
How Much Does Location Change Your Big 4 Consulting Salary?
City choice moves Big 4 pay by more than firm choice does. Department of Labor filings for Deloitte Consulting show a median base of $166,550 in San Jose against $107,099 in Philadelphia, a difference of $59,451 for the same employer in the same year.
City |
Median base salary |
Filings |
San Jose |
$166,550 |
63 |
New York |
$158,350 |
114 |
Los Angeles |
$158,133 |
42 |
Seattle |
$155,000 |
55 |
Atlanta |
$149,650 |
118 |
Boston |
$147,846 |
61 |
Dallas |
$142,600 |
249 |
Chicago |
$132,101 |
158 |
Philadelphia |
$107,099 |
187 |
Source: US Department of Labor Labor Condition Application filings for Deloitte Consulting LLP, fiscal 2024. These medians blend all levels within each city, so they are best read as relative city premiums rather than level-specific pay.
The pattern holds across all four firms. New York and San Francisco anchor the top tier, Chicago and Boston and Washington DC follow a few percent behind, and mid-sized markets such as Charlotte, Tampa, and Phoenix run 15% to 25% lower. Cost of living usually eats the difference, so a Dallas offer often leaves you with more disposable income than a New York one at the same level.
How Much Do Big 4 Partners Earn?
Big 4 partners earn a profit share rather than a salary, and the numbers are public in the United Kingdom, where the firms disclose average profit per equity partner. Deloitte UK reported £1.051 million per equity partner for the year ended 31 May 2025, up 4% from £1.012 million, on distributable profit of £789 million.
KPMG UK paid partners £880,000 in its 2025 financial year, an 11% rise that moved it ahead of both PwC at £865,000 and EY at £787,000 for the first time in over a decade. US partner economics are not disclosed the same way, but the shape is similar, and a first-year Deloitte partner salary typically starts in the $300,000 to $400,000 range before profit distributions.
The more useful number is how hard the door has become. The four firms promoted just 179 new partners in the 2025 cycle, a five year low against 276 in 2022. Partner pay went up in the same year that partner promotions fell to a five year low, and those two facts are the same fact: fewer partners means a bigger slice each.
Plan accordingly. If your financial case for joining a Big 4 firm depends on making partner, you are betting on an outcome that roughly one in a hundred entry-level hires reaches, on a Deloitte consulting career path that runs 12 to 18 years.
How Do You Increase Your Big 4 Consulting Salary?
Four moves account for almost all of the variance in what Big 4 consultants earn. None of them involve negotiating harder at the campus offer stage, because entry-level bands are fixed by cohort at all four firms.
Tip #1: Pick your practice before you pick your firm
The advisory versus audit gap is 25% to 27% at the same title, while the firm-to-firm gap is closer to 5% to 12%. Decide which service line you want first, then choose among the four firms that offer the strongest version of it.
Tip #2: Target a strategy arm and prepare for real case interviews
Monitor Deloitte, Strategy&, EY-Parthenon, and KPMG's strategy group pay 20% to 35% more than core consulting at the same level. They also screen with candidate-led case interviews, so the preparation bar is closer to MBB than to a standard Big 4 behavioral round.
Tip #3: Enter at the highest level your background supports
Each rung adds 25% to 40%, and the post-MBA entry point alone is worth $50,000 to $80,000 a year over an undergraduate start. An MBA, a specialized master's, or three years of relevant industry experience can all move your entry rung.
Tip #4: Negotiate at the senior levels, where offers are actually flexible
Experienced hire and lateral offers are negotiable in a way campus offers are not. The strongest position is a real alternative, whether that is a rival Big 4 offer, a move to a client, or a jump from Big 4 to MBB, which is the single largest pay increase available to a mid-level Big 4 consultant.
Your Big 4 consulting salary is set almost entirely by two decisions: which practice you join and which level you enter at. Choose a strategy arm or a deal advisory group over core audit or tax, and enter as high on the ladder as your background allows. Everything else, including which of the four names sits on your business card, moves the number by less than $20,000, so the highest-return thing you can do right now is research practices rather than firms.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which Big 4 firm pays consultants the most?
Deloitte pays the most at most levels, and KPMG pays the least. The gap is small in practice. At the manager level, Deloitte's median total compensation of $210,377 sits about $23,000 above KPMG's $187,463, which works out to roughly 12%. Your practice area moves the number more than your choice of firm.
Do Big 4 consultants make six figures?
Most reach six figures within two to three years. Entry-level total compensation runs $91,000 to $100,000 at Deloitte, PwC, and KPMG, so the first promotion usually pushes a consultant past $100,000. Post-MBA hires clear six figures immediately, with median total compensation of $145,300 at KPMG and $175,995 at PwC.
How much does a Big 4 manager make?
Big 4 consulting managers earn $187,000 to $210,000 in median total compensation. Deloitte leads at $210,377, PwC follows at $209,829, EY reports about $200,000, and KPMG sits at $187,463. Base salary makes up the large majority of the package, since none of the four firms grant equity below the partnership.
Is Big 4 consulting pay better than MBB?
No. MBB pays 15% to 20% more at entry level and holds that lead at most rungs. Undergraduate hires start at $112,000 to $115,000 in base salary at McKinsey, BCG, and Bain, against $91,000 to $100,000 in total compensation at core Big 4 consulting. The Big 4 strategy arms close most of that gap.
How long does it take to become a Big 4 partner?
Twelve to eighteen years is the normal range, and the door is narrowing. The four firms promoted 179 new partners in the 2025 cycle, a five year low and a sharp drop from 276 in 2022. Fewer promotions protect profit per partner, which is why partner pay rose in the same year that promotions fell.
Do Big 4 consultants get bonuses?
Yes, but bonuses are a small share of pay at junior levels. Levels.fyi puts the average bonus at $3,214 for a Deloitte consultant and $4,988 for a KPMG senior consultant. The bonus share grows fast with seniority, reaching $38,400 at Deloitte senior manager and $55,000 at Deloitte director.
Everything You Need to Land a Consulting Offer
Need help passing your interviews?
-
Case Interview Course: Become a top 10% case interview candidate in 7 days while saving yourself 100+ hours
-
Fit Interview Course: Master 98% of consulting fit interview questions in a few hours
- Interview Coaching: Accelerate your prep with 1-on-1 coaching with Taylor Warfield, former Bain interviewer and best-selling author
Need help landing interviews?
- Resume Review & Editing: Craft the perfect resume with unlimited revisions and 24-hour turnaround
Need help with everything?
- Consulting Offer Program: Go from zero to offer-ready with a complete system
Not sure where to start?
- Free 40-Minute Training: Triple your chances of landing consulting interviews and 8x your chances of passing them